Valencia Arthouse Reviews of Guests


 
 

The Heart of Valencia in the Heart of Valencia

This is a hidden gem in a perfect part of the city close to everything but in a surprisingly mellow and quiet neighborhood just a few steps from the Plaza de Virgen. We spent leisurely mornings meeting fascinating travelers from around the world at the ever so inviting breakfast table. Our bedroom was clean and quiet and anything we might possibly need Margarita made sure we had. I call her Valencia's Concierge Extraordinaire. Whatever you need, she will be happy to help you with. If this was an AirB&B, Margarita would qualify as a super host. My husband and I had never been to Valencia before and we found that staying here was the best decision we could have made because it was a safe and convenient neighborhood, an aesthetically pleasing, cozy, and quiet environment, we had all the privacy we wanted and still had enough contact with others to learn new things and gather great tips every day. We have been traveling for 20 months and the Valencia Arthouse was our favorite stop!
S.Massad, Honolulu, Usa, June 2018

 

 Guests
Selection of comments - in English - on Valencia Arthouse, on Trip Advisor (Certificate of Excellence 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019), and on bedandbreakfast.eu and Zoover

January 2020, Surrey, England

"Very friendly and brillantly located".
We stayed at Valencia Arthouse last week as a surprise birthday present for my other half. In correspondence with Margerita I had mentioned the reason for our visit, however I hadn't expected on arrival a banner & balloon to be hanging in our room, what a lovely touch that gives a perfect example of just how wonderful a host Margerita is. The location is brilliant for exploring the historic centre of the city, the cathedral, Plaza del Virgin, Central Market are all reachable within minutes. We found that the city was easy to walk around, nice and flat with plenty to occupy us on a long weekend. On our second day we headed along the converted river on a beautiful sunny day & enjoyed the multitude of people running, cycling, walking dogs, taking part in yoga or playing on Gulliver (Look it up, it's cool & free). We continued on foot to the beach and had a lovely lunch in a beachfront restaurant at sensible prices. Then we walked most of the way back to the city centre. All in all a 5 hour walk and really enjoyable. Back to the accommodation which was plenty large enough & breakfast was delicious. Margerita makes much of the produce and if something isn't used she donates to some of the homeless people in Valencia. Both mornings we sat and chatted with Margerita about our backgrounds & ideas for the day ahead. To be honest I wanted to give her a big hug at the end of the stay because she had been so perfect. I really must recommend this B&B if you are coming to Valencia.

September 2019, Switzerland

Very friendly, dedicated and open-minded hostess. Individually managed bed and breakfast with stylish décor. Delicious breakfast, absolutely clean rooms. The hostess has great tips for a nice stay, even maps are available. Centrally located house. Highly recommended!

August 2019

"Fantastic". Highly Recommended! The hostel is located right in the historical center of Valencia. The position is great: you're basically close to the main attractions of the city, public transportation and the beautiful park (less than 5 minutes walking). Every morning you'll wake up with a homemade breakfast (fruits, yogurt, juices..). 
A big thank you to the wonderfull Margarita! the super-friendly owner! She's always available to give you any kind of recommendations you need. Thank you for everything!

July 2019, Germany
 
"Best B& B experience". Margarita is an awesome host. We felt home the moment we arrived. She answers all the questions and speaks several languages and is friendly and smiling all the time.
The apartment where the rooms are, is in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. The rooms are well equipped with a lovingly touch. The breakfast is served in the big living room and there is everything you'll need and can ask for. It's also a good chance to not only talk to Margarita but to the other guests from all over the world.
The apartment is in walking distance to all the things to see in Valencias old town. To reach the beach you can easily take a bus or a taxi.

We enjoyed our stay very much and thank Margarita for that great experience.


July 2019, Marie, France

"Lovely Arthouse". Our welcome was so nice. We were offered a glass of cava on arrival. The hostess was very attentive. She knows pretty well the town and what is worth seeing. Our room was large, luminous, opening on a small balcony. The B&B is located in a quiet street. Rooms are decorated with objects from all over the world that create a singular and unique atmosphere. And last but not least: we really enjoyed the tasty, generous, special B&B breakfast.
 

July 2019, Netherlands

"Special b & b with great hostess". We were warmly welcomed in this beautiful and special b & b. We had access to the entire floor with kitchen, bathroom and 3 bedrooms. Plumbing is nice and clean and the bedding smelled wonderfully fresh. The breakfast is nice and especially cozy, because Margarita is an enthusiastic lady with many nice stories. She also has good tips for your stay.
All in all we are very satisfied and we hope to come back again!

 

May 2019, Netherlands

"A great time". It's not going to be super personal. What we enjoyed: the warm welcome, the delicious breakfast and the pleasant conversations at the breakfast table. Magarita, thank you for all your good care and the good time we had with you. Gr. Tom & Anjo ».

 

April 2019, Portland, Oregon, Usa

"Location, location, location!". We visited for four nights in April during Semana Santa. We were able to view a pre-Easter procession from our balcony. Margarita is a gracious, enthusiastic hostess who provides an excellent breakfast and recommendations for nearby restaurants. Rooms are comfortable - we shared a private bathroom with our son. Valencia Arthouse is located near Plaza de la Virgen - easy access to the old city and shopping along La Paz. Recommend this BnB for travelers who enjoy meeting others and the charm of Valencia.

April 2019, London, UK

"Warmly hosted. Great location". A wonderful 3 nights at this quaint B&B in the heart of the old city. Margarita is a wonderful hostess with help and advice for every part of your visit. Amazing breakfasts and her eclectic collection of art and artefacts make this so different from a regular hotel.
 

March 2019, London, UK

"Lovely B&B". I stayed at Valencia Arthouse for 4 nights and had a great time. The owner, Margarita, is such a lovely and friendly person. On arrival she met me (even though I arrived fairly late) and we had some cava together while she told me all about Valencia and recommended things for me to do. She even wrote me a list of vegetarian restaurants when she found out I'm vegetarian! As the B&B was fairly quiet when I was there, I actually ended up with 2 rooms to myself, one with an en-suite bathroom. The rooms are so nice, really tastefully decorated with art and interesting items Margarita has picked up from all over the world. Bed was super comfortable and shower excellent. The breakfast was amazing (huge selection of freshly made stuff including pancakes, French toast, cakes, fruit salad....) and I also loved that there are oranges (from Valencia!) that you can help yourself to anytime. The location really couldn't be better - really central, only about 2 or 3 mins walk from the cathedral. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend!

February 2019, France

It was my second stay at the Valencia Arthouse and I was so happy with my choice. I came in Valencia for business. The location is ideal : in the very heart of the old town, so easy to reach my meeting places and go out for dinner. Rooms are luminous with charming flower balconies overlooking a small place, very quiet. I had my private bathroom: very clean. And what about the very delicious home-made breakfast served by the hostess, Margarita, who is so happy that you feel happy and so caring.

October 2018, London, UK

"Viva Valencia". My wife and I stayed at the Valencia Arthouse at the end of September for a couple of days. We were warmly greeted by the owner Margarita who showed us around and gave us the choice between two loverly rooms, we chose the large room at the front of the house because it had a tiny balcony overlooking the street/square. The room was super stylish and spacious. We had the use of the kitchen with it's supply of tea's and coffee's.
The Arthouse located just around the corner from the place de la virgin with it's magnificent cathedral surrounded by restaurants and bars.
Margarita gave us a sumptuous breakfast and she couldn't have been more helpful with her advice of what to see and do.
We would thoroughly recommend The Arthouse. We left Valencia feeling that we had made a new friend and found an the ideal base to explore the city on our future visits.
Thanks Margarita. See you soon.

September 2018, Canada

"#1 B&B. What a host". My husband and I just spent four nights at the Valencia Art House b&b. We have stayed in many, many b&bs and can honestly that this is truly one of our absolute favourites. The owner, Margerita, does everything possible to make your stay an unforgettable experience. She even did our laundry!
The cost was very reasonable, the location was perfect, the room was huge and very comfortable, and the breakfasts were just crazy good. Homemade crepes, banana bread, eggs, French toast, and lots of fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. Really amazing.
Margerita was so helpful - her English was excellent! She met with us for extended periods of time to help us plan our days and recommend several great restaurants - there are many in Valencia. While there, we even did a four hour paella cooking class at Escuela de Arroces y Paella Valencia. So much fun!

We would highly, highly recommend Valencia Art House b&b. It is, hands down, the #1 bed and breakfast to stay in Valencia!

August 2018, Tarragone, Spain

"Great B&B at a perfect location". I can’t recommend Valencia Arthouse highly enough. The apartment is located in a quiet part of the old town but still located perfectly. Only a minute away from both Turia park and plaza de Virgen. The cathedral, archeology museum, bars, restaurants, buses and bike hire are all literally around the corner. Margarita met me upon arrival with a cold drink and gave me lots of advice. I went to most of the places she recommended and they all were great! From eating a menu del dia at Saona, watching a flamenco performance at Del Duende to cycling to a authentic beach hut called Elocho.
My room was large, clean, the bed comfy and the fan was welcomed as it was very hot in town. Margarita let me borrow a beach towel which was handy. Breakfast was great! Love the creamy yoghurt, several meats, cheeses, fruit, scrambled eggs some mornings, bread and sweet pastry. You will leave breakfast satisfied - that’s for sure.
If I visit Valencia in the future I’ll stay at the Arthouse again!

 

June 2018, Honolulu, USA
Margarita runs a great B&B...the breakfasts are a major meal and she is so attentive and kind. Our room is comfy and quiet and she cleans every day! Her concern is that you have a great time during your stay in Valencia. The other guests we've met here so far have also been great. Would highly recommend.

May 2018, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

A great place to stay”. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in mid May. We knew we had selected well when we were greeted by Margarita outside the accommodation when we came into the little square near her house. Margarita knew when our fight was due in and had calculated our likely arrival with her.
We endorse the accolades below. With your morning starting off with a hearty breakfast you were set ready for the day. Her tips where to go , and places to eat were spot on. As stated the location is fantastic for the old city., and the park on the old river bed. The latter is a great place to escape should you need to chill from the city, especially during the festival for the Virgen, which was in full swing when we were there. We heard a great many shouts of "Viva Valencia", at the festival, we would also say," Viva Margarita".
A big thanks to Margarita, a perfect host.

May 2018, San Carlos, Usa

Perfect place to stay to enjoy Valencia”. We just loved everything about staying here, from the host to the beautifully decorated rooms to the breakfasts to the advice and suggestions made by the host! Your best friend wouldn't be nicer and more gracious (she even went with my husband to show him a place across the river where he could park free for the days we were there)...and might not have such a nice place to offer you to stay.The location is amazing...right in the middle of old town, near everything you would want to see or visit. It doesn't take more than 8 minutes to get anywhere in the old town area and most things are less than 5 minutes away! Just loved staying here for 3 days. Beautiful, quiet room with modern bathroom, great breakfasts in beautiful breakfast room, great advice for sightseeing, and an elevator in the building!

April 2018, Oakland, Usa

The perfect place to stay in Valencia”. Generally, I am very good at picking places to stay which, while providing all of the necessary amenities, nevertheless lack the sterility of hotels, and have a personality or character. But this time, I surprised even me. Five stars is not quite enough!
My friend and I stayed at this cozy B&B for a week. And we were so happy that we did. It's not a separate house, but the entire floor of an old building. It's very easy to get to and from the airport by taxi; €20-€25 will do it. It's very comfortable, and being in the Ciutat Vella on a street where cars are not alowed at all, is likewise quiet and peaceful. That is a must for me, because I am a light sleeper. It is also quite secure, so our belongings, passports, and cash were safe.One of its biggest advantages is its location. It's a three minute walk to the Turia Park. It's about a two minute walk to Plaza de la Virgen, which is tourist central in Valencia. The Cathedral is there. It's about a seven minute walk to the Central Market. It's a one minute walk to one of the better restaurants in Valencia, Bar Almudin, also highly recommended. (But bring your appetite!) When Almudin is closed, the restaurant right next door is very reasonable and pretty good. I would suggest avoiding most of the restaurants on the plaza itself. They don’t care if they ever see you again, and it shows.
Margarita, or Ita, the owner, is a former art dealer, and nearly everything in the flat is a piece of art. So it is very attractive. But Ita herself is actually the best news about the ArtHouse. She is warm, friendly, informative, kind, and never stops laughing. This was especially important to me, because my friend suffers from a kind of Alzheimer's disease, and she was very understanding and supportive of his problems.
I do a lot of traveling, and though it is easy to find friendly innkeepers, she made us feel like we were her friends, not merely her  guests. She presides over a very good breakfast every morning, and she makes it feel like breakfast with family, rather than hostess and guests. She speaks at least four languages that I am aware of, which is even more helpful.
I can not recommend this place highly enough!!!!

March 2018, Israel

"Great Location, Magical place, Excellent host!" My first time in B&B. Margarita the host and the place make you feel at home with your family and friends. We had great welcome with refreshments and personal recommendation for things to do and visit in the city during Fallas.
We had a very big and relaxing room, private bathroom, a coffee room, breakfast was rich and tasty, and gave us the opportunity to chat with other guests and share experience.
Margarita helped us with booking restaurants prior our arrival, and accompanied us to the police station as a translator since one of our passports was taken by a pickpocket. she really made the procedure fast & easy, and it is really not obvious.
Highly recommended, We will certainly come again!

Cambridge, United Kingdom, October 2017

"A perfect stay, thank you". Margarita is THE loveliest host we could have had. She's warm, friendly, charming, helpful and receives you like a personal guest in her own home. I don't usually feel so strongly about writing reviews online but after this stay at Valencia Arthouse, I felt like I had to. Firstly, this lovely place is right in the centre of Valencia as promised, off in a side street which is easily found (and Margarita provides the clearest directions on how to get here)! It's within walking distance of all the main sights and well-connected by public transport too! Once we arrived, she offered us light refreshments and sat us down for half an hour to tell us about all the best sights and food here in Valencia. Her love for this city is infectious and we relied on her expertise fully over our 3 days here. She helped us in every way she could, checking that we were enjoying ourselves every time she saw us in the flat -- kindly lending us beach towels for the beach, picnic blankets for the park, and a musical birthday candle for my birthday cake earlier tonight!
The room we stayed in was clean and lovely, with a quaint balcony and shuttered doors that kept all the noise out at night. The flat is beautifully decorated with an exciting collection of artwork everywhere, truly living up to its name! The bathroom was again very clean and well-equipped, with Margarita providing us with everything we could have needed.
Breakfast every morning is a hearty and healthy feast, with everything you could want from yoghurts to bread and pancakes with fruit bowls and cold meats! As we have to leave early in the morning before breakfast (at 9am each day, a lovely communal affair), Margarita has even generously given us some breakfast to take with us on our trip home!!!
It was such good fortune that we'd found this place in Valencia, and we leave this town bursting from the wonderful food we've had (which she's recommended), and all the great times here! I am merely adding to the glowing reviews from all her previous guests. I wouldn't recommend anywhere else to friends and family and can't wait for the chance to return.

♦ Television
10 December 2016
Margarita welcomes Jérôme Pitorin for 'Echappées Belles', a TV Reportage of the French channel France 5, dedicated to Valencia and its surroundings.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGz4Xacmkv

♦ Press
About VALENCIA ARTHOUSE in Bordeaux Tendances (France), August 2017
Lodging. Located in the historic centre of Valencia, very close from Valencia Cathedral, the Carmen area and the central market, the Valencia Arthouse is the ideal place to stay. A Spanish breakfast and other sweets await you.
http://www.bordeauxtendances.fr/week-end-a-valence-espagne/

Recommended Review for Valencia Arthouse, Yelp.com, 19 December 2013
There are three things that make the Valencia Arthouse fantastic. The first is Margarita, the B&B's owner. Margarita is genuinely a people-person. She loves to chat; she is a smart, creative, interesting person; and she knows the city inside-and-out. When you arrive at the Arthouse, she is waiting for you with drinks, and she takes out a map of the city and spends at least half an hour orienting you. She points out major cultural sites, offers restaurant advice, and tells you how to get around. And she customizes this information - we told her we liked Moroccan food, and she recommended Dukala, which we loved. The second is breakfast. Breakfast at the Art House is an event. Margarita puts out an amazing spread - bread, cheese, crushed tomato, french toast, pancakes, figs, dates, cereal, honey, coffee, tea, juice. It's a decadent, lovely way to start the morning. Breakfast is also served in a stunning room which houses Margarita's art collection (or at least some of it!). It's the kind of room that makes you feel inspired just sitting there. The third is location. The Arthouse is right near the Cathedral, steps to the 95 bus (which transports you to City of Arts and Sciences), steps to Plaza de la Reina and Plaza de los Virgenes. In short, you can walk everywhere if you stay with Margarita.

If you are looking for a really unique experience, check out the Art House. It's not the anonymous experience of staying in a big hotel - it's an intimate, homey experience. I can honestly say that our experience of Valencia was shaped by Margarita's advice and her warmth.
http://www.yelp.com/biz/valencia-arthouse-valencia

7 July 2014
At the Valencia Arthouse, you are welcome like friends. Margarita, the B&B's owner, actually ensures that you feel good. She gave us many details on the current activities, a real plus. The B & B overlooks a pretty small square: very Spanish, what we were looking for. As its name suggests, its decoration is original and artistic, we would say between Spanish and South American. The rooms are quite comfortable, with a lovely little balcony. We did love the ambiance along with the delicious and hearty breakfasts. The warm atmosphere of the Valencia Arthouse definitely contributed a lot to make us spend a very good stay in Valencia. Monick R.
http://www.yelp.com/biz/valencia-arthouse-valencia